Login

Free AF Webinar: Growing Up as a Transracial Adoptee:What Parents Need to Know

  • 19 May 2016
  • webinar

ADOPTIVE FAMILIES

FREE Webinar

Growing Up as a Transracial Adoptee:What Parents Need to Know

Thursday, May 19 at 1pm ET

EXPERT: Deborah H. Johnson

 

If you adopted your child transracially, what does she experience growing up? How should you be talking about race and racism, birth culture, and differences in your family to instill a positive racial identity? How should you discuss teasing he may face at school, as well as societal attitudes and events in the news to help your child navigate a world that is far from colorblind, now and as an adult?

 

In this webinar, social worker and adult adoptee Deborah H. Johnson will discuss transracial parenting from a professional and personal perspective. Join us for this presentation and a chance to ask your questions.

 

The Expert Q&A Webinar with Deborah H. Johnson: "Growing Up as a Transracial Adoptee: What Parents Need to Know" will take place on Thursday, May 19, 2016 from 1pm to 2pm ET (12pm-1pm CT; 11am-12pm MT; 10am-11am PT). 

 

Submit a question in advance by posting a comment here

Register Now
Not available May 19? Register anyway and we’ll send you the link to replay the webinar.The recording of the webinar will be available free of charge for one week following the live broadcast. (After that, it will be available for individual purchase.) It will always be free for Adoptive Families site members.
 

EXPERT:

Deborah H. Johnson

Deborah H. Johnson is a Minneapolis-based social worker with more than 25 years of experience working with adoptive families. She is the founder of Kindred Journeys International, a heritage travel company and a longtime columnist for Adoptive Families magazine. She was adopted from South Korea.
 
PO Box 237065
Ansonia Station
New York, NY 10023 

    
   fb  •  fb grp  •  insta  • twtr

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software