Adoptive Families Free Webinar: Parenting the Hurt Child w Regina M. Kupecky, LSW

  • 09 Mar 2016
  • Free Webinar

Register now for a FREE Expert Q&A Webinar

 

Register for a transracial adoption webinar with Beth HallParenting the Hurt Child

with Regina M. Kupecky, LSW

 

March 9, 2016 @ 1 pm ET

When you adopt a child beyond infancy, whether from the U.S. foster system or internationally, his background will likely include trauma and other losses. In your home, these may express themselves as difficulty ceding control, bonding with parents and siblings, expressing emotions, talking about his past, and trusting in his new family—and even experienced parents may struggle to support their new child through the transition and manage their own anger.

In this webinar, older-child adoption expert Regina M. Kupecky, LSW, co-author of Parenting the Hurt Child, explains why children adopted at older ages behave the way they do, and what parents should do (and parenting techniques that should be avoided) to help their child gradually attach and heal from trauma.

The Expert Q&A Webinar with Regina Kupecky: "Parenting the Hurt Child" will take place on Wednesday, March 9, 2016 from 1pm to 2pm ET (12pm-1pm CT; 11am-12pm MT; 10am-11am PT).

Register for a transracial adoption webinar with Beth Hall

Submit a question in advance by posting a comment here.

 Can't attend the webinar?

Adoptive Families members can replay webinars on demand.

Non-members may purchase individual recordings, or join the site for full access and members' benefits.


Regina M. Kupecky, LSW, has been working with adoptive families and children for more than 35 years, and is currently a therapist at Adoption & Attachment Therapy Partners, in Broadview Heights, Ohio. She is a co-author of Parenting the Hurt Child, Adopting the Hurt Child, and the therapeutic workbook A Foster-Adoption Story: Angela and Michael’s Journey, and the author of the therapeutic workbook series The Adoption Club. Kupecky also co-authored The Mystery of the Multiple Mothers, a mystery novel with an adoption theme, with her brother.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software